In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In recent years the idea of senior home care has become quite popular, therefore some are arguing that it is the family responsibility to pay for these facilities,not the government. In this, essay I will be discussing why I believe that this is mainly the role of the family but in some,situations governments should get involved. To begin, it is common courtesy that old people should be treated with respect and get the proper care that they deserve. They have spent almost all their lives caring and supporting their children through life hardships. Therefore when they get older they need moral, physical and sometimes financial support and here comes the family role to give them the love, respect and care they gave to them when they were dependent on them. However, in some,circumstances families do not have the financial ability to care for their elders or in some situations these elders do not have a direct family member that can care for them. In these,cases the government should allocate money to fund them. After all these people have paid their taxes and supported their state.A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that 30% of elderly people who live in nursing homes have no immediate family members to care for them. Moreover, old people have plenty of life experience and a great amount of wisdom and value that could pass to future generations which will benefit society. In conclusion, whether it is a family member or the authority senior citizens should not be left alone. Getting the proper care is a basic human right that should not be negotiated.