Some people think that social networking sites have a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many hold the view that social media is harmful, both on a personal and a societal basis. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the merits and demerits of this viewpoint. In this essay, I will review the issues to seek a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that social media apps have been responsible for much personal unhappiness since for each user who boasts about their own wealth, happiness and good fortune, another suffers envy, depression and loss of self-esteem. Moreover, much antisocial behaviour has found its way onto social media sites, including bullying, trolling, and online battles, which quite often lead to relationship breakdowns and even murder. In addition, in an alarming new trend, social media companies have begun to censor content and even ban some users from their networks, raising fears of Big Brother-style thought control. On the other hand, the fact that families and friends can remain in close contact even when time zones apart is one of the greatest benefits social media has brought to the world. Furthermore, social networking sites encourage the formation of interest groups and the sharing of knowledge, uniting users from all over the world in communities based on shared interests. Also, as much as it is negative that commercial company owners control and censor social media, it is positive that governments can keep a finger on the pulse of their nations while communicating directly with the people. To summarize, there is no doubt that social media applications have been responsible for introducing new evils, such as trolling, online bullying, and shadow-banning, to the world. On the other hand, however, when used constructively, they help to maintain relationships and bring communities together. In the final analysis, therefore, one must conclude that, like many other powerful forces, social apps have the power to unite or divide, and it is up to the individual to choose how best to use them.