Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that early life education contributes greatly to a child personality, including the practices of making decisions on their own. While I believe being independent of making decisions may induce some traits of narcissism, I believe the benefits of early cognition of personal judgements outweigh the drawbacks. The biggest issue of allowing children to make their own selections is concerned in terms of nourishing their selfish traits, which means prioritizing their own interests. Choices are often based on personal preferences, and by starting making choices at a young age, children are used to choosing their inclinations and gradually carrying the mindset of following their desires regardless of other benefits. Therefore, the children will become self-centred whose priority is their own good, and if this tendency prevails over every young individual, it may lead to unprecedented harm to society. On the brighter side, however, decision-making is an important skill that needs cultivating at a young age to benefit the future. By making small options on a daily basis, children practice taking account of different factors to give out the most advantageous selection. Gradually, they become more judicious before making important decisions that are of great significance and have lifetime influence. For example, a student has to decide what major to study at university. At that point, were he so experienced a person, he would take into consideration many elements such as personal ability,tuition fee and living expenses on which his final decision is based. In conclusion, I come to terms with the idea of allowing children to give out their preferences at a young age will have a positive impact on their life.