In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

The debate around whether it is beneficial to prevent teenagers from going out of home at night without an accompanying person has raged on recently. I, for one, approve of this idea for numerous reasons. This essay delves into the issue and provides logical reasons before drawing a conclusion. To begin with, teenager’s safety is their basic right which both the government and parents are responsible for, so imposing strict rules like this could act as a catalyst to diminish probable risks. In other words, in some situations teenagers really are not aware of the potential danger of a behavior, so the guard or their parents could inform them of the risks. Moreover, due to the lack of police on the streets, crime rate is tremendously higher at night. Therefore, teenagers should not be allowed to stay outdoors. According to recent statistics concerning the crime rate, approximately 80 percent of pickpocketing and mugging happen throughout the night. Hence, it is reasonable that the government even assign hefty fines or harsher punishment for teenagers who are wandering around alone at night. Finally, not only are teenagers not mentally mature enough to make up their mind when they are in danger, but also they are not physically powerful enough to advocate for themselves in case of a problem. Thus if something happens to them, it would ach on their mind for long-term, even over the course of old age and in some circumstances it causes damaging effects such as committing suicide or using drugs. Having taken all into consideration, as far as I am concerned, enacting such rules could be an advantageous preemptive action to protect teenagers from various happenings.