It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are disadvantages and advantages of this

It is more and more common to take a sabbatical year before going to university. It can be very positive but it depends on how this year is used. In the present essay, I will explain the possible disadvantages and advantages of it. First, taking a pause can be distractive and easily be extended. Likewise, a young person without directions could lose his way. In addition to this, travelling or working in small partime jobs interrupts the previous studying mindset and could be harder to return. Like, in the case of someone who took a year off and started working in a coffee shop in the neighbourhood. Even if everything is an experience, the teenager will be at a disadvantage from others of the same age. While they were wasting their time, others will be finishing their first year in university. Second, there are many advantages of taking a pause. For example, if this year is well organized, balanced with volunteer work, travelling, workshops it could develop fundamental skills. Such as communication capacities, independence, and self-awareness. Furthermore, it allows choosing better the career they want and being more out of the box. To conclude, in my opinion, it can be very positive. Studying can be limitative and having time to explore other hobbies helps create more independent people.