Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human’s life. Discuss both views and give your opinion – Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that learning from past mistakes in history is important in avoiding repeating the previous mistakes while taking decisions on our life today. This paper will investigate two different arguments, where one argues that we can’t learn from previous mistakes in history to take better decisions today. While the other one believes that history is an essential source of information to comprehend human’s life. Eventually, I will draw my own conclusion.. As for the first argument, some people believe that history can’t provide us with useful information to take better decisions nowadays. The main claim provided to support this claim is that these days the world is globalized and faces different kinds of challenges such as climate change, therefore the challenges in the past do not exist today. To illustrate, climate change is a modern phenomenon that requires new policies and new actions, and since the climate change did not exist in the past people will not be able to learn from previous challenges in history how to mitigate the climate change problem nowadays. In terms of the second argument, there are people who believe that history can actually be a useful source of information. This is because the previous wrong decisions in history can help us in taking better decisions today by avoiding repeating the previous mistakes. In other words, in the past there have been a lot of wrong practices concerning the human rights such as race discrimination and gender discrimination. People in the past used to treat African people as slaves. Moreover, women were not guaranteed equal rights as men. Therefore, when people learn about the problems behind these negative practices, they will take new actions to avoid previous mistakes. In conclusion, though the challenges we face today are different than the challenges in the past, governments can use history as a source of information to avoid repeating the past mistakes in the future.