Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era, computers are becoming an integral part of our children’s lives, at entertainment, academic, and social levels. Many believe that the daily usage of computers has more advantages than drawbacks, while others argue that it holds drastic effects on their kids’ mental and physical health. This essay disagrees with the latter and emphasizes the importance of computers for Research and communication. Information accessibility is one the most important aspects of the Internet, and it is a finger click away. Through the new academic programs, daily projects and research are marked assignments, and students need to access the internet to find the correct information. Moreover, many schools are providing the curriculum in a digital format, hence the exercises and exams should be delivered online. Based on personal experience, and due to the new modern educational approach, my daughters show great knowledge and expertise in many areas, that in my childhood, I was totally unaware of. Social interaction and communication are a key part of every child’s life. Decades before, people used phones to talk, and coffee shops to meet up. Nowadays, it is not the case, children communication is based on social platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, or TikTok. It may sound silly for some people, but that’s the new norm for the new millennials. For instance, in the pandemic, most children didn’t show any boredom symptoms, as they kept communicating as usual, even having online movie nights with their friends. In conclusion, despite many drawbacks of extensive computer usage, the advantages do overcome, especially when it comes to academic research and social communication. But it is worth noting that the parents have a great responsibility in monitoring the online content their kids are visiting, such as sites, games, or video, and to maintain balanced screentime.