In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people's skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Every woman nowadays has a skincare routine. There are a variety of skincare these days ranging from serum, moisturizer, sunscreen, and toner. Each type of product has its benefits such as slowing the signs of aging, brightening, hydration, and reviving dull-looking skin. However, while I believe that such products are beneficial to the individual, I agree that they have had damaging effects in terms of health and society. With regards to individuals, the impact that skincare products have had on each person has clear advantages. Firstly, people would want a skincare item that had an immediate effect. Therefore, many companies started to release beauty items that had the effect of brightening and whitening claiming that the product would work in a short amount of time. So the people who rarely had a chance to wait for a long time to see the outcome become tempted by the products. Secondly, in the beauty industry, people tend to believe that fairer skin can be regarded as superior. This is because of media that shows having white skin as ideal for all. Henceforth, countless women begin to follow the current beauty trends without researching the product ingredients. On the other hand, these products have negative effects on people's health. For instance, companies mix chemical ingredients in these products and they are harmful to the skin. A recent study has shown that the components of these products are carcinogenic and may cause cancer if applied regularly. There are detrimental effects on the society as well. People with darker skin believe that white is better than black. Owing to this, they try to avoid being part of social events; as a result, they suffer from depression and stress. In conclusion, it is indeed a fact that whitening products have a profitable market. Media influence is one of the major factors contributing to this trend. However, steps should be taken to change this mindset as it has hazardous effects on people and society.