News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Discuss. (Cambridge IELTS 1).

Certain types of information are separated in different platforms, television and newspapers, by news copyreaders. Personally, I believe the news agencies select data according to the target groups in each platform. It seems like we see tremendous terrible news regularly in everyday life on these platforms and become used to it. However, this essay strongly thinks that bad news would affect and influence society better than good news because it could help people have more awareness in their lives. Nowadays, since technology become a big role in our lives, the majority of society use it as a tool for living. Thus, most people would see news on mass communication such as television more often than newspapers. There is just a certain group of individuals buying newspapers, most of them are elders. Therefore, in order to catch the audiences' attention, the publishers have to present the news that fit with their interests. For example, teenagers are interested in technology and gossip, so the news reporters on television would show the news about celebrities or bran new computer more often than the news about politics or the economy which is more often found in the newspapers because the readers are older people or workers. However, a similar type of news on both platforms is news about loss or sadness such as accidents and disasters. There are accidental events on the news every day. Especially in Thailand, we can see the news about accidents on road almost every hour since Thai traffic is quite unsafe for car and motorbike users. Thai people see it every day and it becomes very common in present. Thai people are not shocked by car crush news anymore. However, displaying this kind of news could give a butterfly effect on society. Seeing unexpected events is cultivated in people's minds. It helps individuals aware of danger and safety. Moreover, it could influence young people to not follow those mistakes on the news because they can clearly see the disadvantages and dangers of the bad news. In conclusion, data on television and newspapers are sorted out by ages of target groups so it could fit the viewers' interests effectively. It is true that the majority of society is used to scary news but it gives advantages over the disadvantages since it encourages community by showing cases of unexpected events which affects our lives directly, it makes people have consciousness in life.