Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

It Is thought that exams should be replaced with continuous assessments due to unsuitable methods of measuring students` academic performance. I firmly disagree with that statement due to some justifications and will support them with examples. To start with, forcing individuals to pass repetitive evaluations throughout the academic year may have detrimental effects on students` well-being. To move on to more details, burdening students with numerous tasks such as constant exams, projects, and other types of assessments will put undue pressure on them and increase their stress levels. For instance, a student who experiences financial troubles will be forced to study on a daily basis, thus having no chance to work part-time. As a result, affecting students` mindset and mental health. Moreover, it is undeniable that people need breaks between studying due to the inability of the human brain to function without rest. However, working hard in order to get the desired score for continuous evaluations would deprive students of leisure time. As a result, a lack of spare time,which could be spent on relaxing and interacting with friends and family, will only reduce students` performance. In comparison, those who pass only final exams have an opportunity to strike the right balance between private life and university, which helps them to maintain stable mental well-being and reduce stress. To conclude, it is argued whether continuous assessments are better than exams. In my opinion, this approach would keep students under pressure and negatively impact their mindsets as well as disrupt their academic performance.