In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this?Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, there is a wide range of advertisements. Today, businesses usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. This trend is due to high demand from the public and this is a negative development. The first aspect to point out is that people follow the latest tendency which puts so much pressure on the business industry. For example, there are many different types of smartphones and each model has unique functions. Although some use only particular functions on their phones, they still chase the newest ones in order to follow the trend in the community. As a result, many companies need to advertise the sales points of their products in order to make profits. As far as I am concerned, this trend has a negative development. The first example is that there is high competition among companies. Small businesses would be affected by the competition and they would need to close their businesses. This would have a negative impact on the employees. Secondly, the public would not appreciate the items that they have already had as their belongings. If they replaced their belongings as the new products are released, the previous ones would be thrown away even though they have not worn out. This would have another negative influence on the environment. There would be so much waste that nature would be destroyed. To conclude, the pressure from the public plays a key role when it comes to advertisements. This is a negative development in modern society with regards to people's attitudes and environmental issues.