Buying things in internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries is becoming more popular. Do advantage of this outweigh disadvantage.

An increasing popularity has been observed in online shopping and e-markets such as Amazon. However, such a thing comes with benefits and drawbacks that are yet to be discussed later on. In my honest opinion, I strongly believe that the transformation to internet buying left a far more positive impact on the world than harming it. The primary drawback of purchasing goods from the Internet is that the quality of the products was left ambiguous until we received the package. There were numerous articles discussed about how some firms encourage customers to buy low-quality-low-price clothes by presenting photoshopped photos. These unrealistic images of the dress created an incentive for buyers to believe in what they saw and swipe their cards. As a result, when the actual dress arrived, the majority of people were unsatisfied with the quality and rarely wore it in the future. This created a wastage in materials and irrational money-spending patterns for consumers. Another downside of ordering online is that the rate of transportation pollution rises. This could be explained by the increasing orders to individual houses instead of just shipping the goods to one destination such as a supermarket or a bookstore. The carbon dioxide that was released by those transport vehicles showed an upward trend with the number of online orders, contributing to global warming. On the other hand, one reason why online shopping is advantageous is that it helps consumers to mitigate the time that is spent shopping for groceries. For instance, without the aid of the internet in the past, we used to travel to the supermarket for groceries and food supplies which could take us two to three hours in total per time we went to the mall including time travel back and forth. On the other hand, if our books were ordered online, only a few clicks and fifteen minutes were needed. Thus, this created a huge time gap between the two alternatives. This time gap could be utilised to finish other tasks such as checking emails, finishing chores, and other work-related businesses. Another benefit of this trend could be that more opportunities are created for competition between smaller businesses and larger and more established ones. In particular, small online businesses could use social media pages to promote their products and reach a large number of audiences that are comparatively equal to the larger firms' marketing campaigns due to algorithms in these platforms. Not to mention that the cost of setting up these promotion posts are way less than traditional form of advertising such as newspaper. Taking everything into consideration, I truly believe that the advantages of online shopping far outweigh the disadvantages due to its convenience. Shopping trends changed drastically after COVID-19 as a way for the world to cope with the pandemic along with technological advances. Nevertheless, this is not by any means undervalue the benefits that purchasing online brings as it is an essential aiding tool for nowadays busy lifestyle.