More people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

My name is Suchaya Boonviriya, my educational backgrounds are a bachelor’s degree in nursing science and a master’s degree in public health. I have worked as a neurological ICU nurse for 7 years at Bangkok Hospital, Thailand and have experience in various healthcare areas such as aged care, private care, and medical equipment in Australia. At present, I am working at Telehealth Cluster, Faculty of Medicine, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand where I conduct digital innovations as tools to leverage the power of data to enhance healthcare service and enable a higher quality of care. While I have worked at Telehealth Cluster, I have also been a participant in a few national public health projects such as A nationwide survey and development of digital innovation for facilitating HBV elimination in Thailand, Nationwide Online HCV Registration and be in a team of developing hepatitis B and C practice guideline with Ministry of Public Health. Additionally, I have been part of innovative healthcare research such as Artificial Intelligence in the diagnosis and prognosis of hepatocellular carcinoma, developing a digital platform for primary and secondary prevention in the elderly that integrate health and environmental factors between community and health facilities for a seamless multidisciplinary care plan. However, I still require bridge knowledge between medical and engineering which play a major role in digital healthcare innovation toward healthcare ’s betterment. Thailand is one of the developing countries where healthcare disparities, whether caused by socioeconomic status or geographically, are associated with worse health outcomes, thus eliminating health care inequalities must be done. To realize such a goal, I competed and was awarded HRH Princess Chulabhorn, College of Medical Science Scholarship in Commemoration of King Bhumibol Adulyadej’s 90th Birthday Anniversary. This prestigious scholarship provides an opportunity for me and other medical professionals in Thailand to enhance services and reach medical science accomplishments leading to improving the living quality of people. Thus, I would like to have the opportunity to gather knowledge with your assigned work. I am strongly confident that I will be guided to be an expert along with my energy, dedication, willingness to learn and strong desire to be successful.