Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Opinions diverge on what function universities should have. I am convinced universities should focus more on providing students with academic and scientific knowledge rather than vocational training because this knowledge can confer long-term benefits to students, and universities are arguably the best place to impart this knowledge. Students should mainly acquire academic knowledge at university because they can gain profound advantages during the learning process. To comprehend/ grasp and master concepts of academic subjects, such as mathematics, physics and philosophy, students need to go through rigorous scientific training in critical thinking and logical reasoning, which will enable them to acquire/ develop scientific and logical ways of thinking and an abundance of tools to verify/ validate/ substantiate or debunk/ refute a claim. Students who have innated → internalized such knowledge and skills can apply them to effectively address/ tackle/ deal with issues in career and life by analyzing the situation and making rational decisions. Furthermore, universities can provide academic education more effectively than most institutions. Subjects consisting of sophisticated theories concepts cannot be taught effectively without professors who dedicate themselves to the subject matter, up-to-date and credible learning materials and specialized facilities and equipment. These resources cannot be accessed at any other place than universities, so universities are where students can receive the best academic education and training. In contrast, although practical skills also play a significant role in students ’ careers and life, these skills can be gained by various approaches. For example, those who are interested in improving their communication skills can do it by reading self-help books, watching videos or attending online courses, instead of enrolling in a university course. In conclusion, the primary purpose of universities should be conveying academic knowledge because students can benefit more from such knowledge than from practical skills, and also, universities boost resources to provide quality academic education.