Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For centuries, absolute honesty has been a moral dilemma among people. While some argue that there are occasions when a falsehood is necessary, others oppose this and say that telling lies is a sin no matter what the reason is. I completely agree with the idea that occasional dishonesty can be beneficial, both for loved ones and society. To begin with, the morality of a lie often depends on an individual's intention. People sometimes rely on white lies with good intent, whether to uplift a friend, make their mother happy, or encourage a younger sibling to study. In addition, individuals may not want to hear the truth, especially cruel truths, which can lead to a loss of confidence and even self-isolation, and in some extreme cases, feelings of loneliness and depression. For instance, when my friend bought an expensive dress, which she had been saving for months to afford, I told her it was really beautiful, and that made her extremely happy. Moreover, in a political context, telling deceitful statements is sometimes considered strategic. For example, some intellectual politicians avoid being fully honest after a careful assessment of the situation. This often happens when dealing with hostile nations, in order to protect national interests and prevent international conflict. For instance, in the aftermath of the Arab Spring, some politicians had to lie in order to resolve conflicts and negotiate peace for the benefit of their citizens, thus soothing dangerous tensions. In conclusion, although lying on purpose can sometimes have harmful consequences, I believe that occasional dishonesty is a useful tool to protect the people around us.