As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Given the fact that these days, online platforms play a more pivotal role in providing people with the latest information compared to printed books, it is believed that digital educational products like E-books should be replaced with textbooks in tertiary institutions. While there are some drawbacks associated with such online products, it is my view that the main benefits are more substantial. On the other hand, a primary advantage of replacing online books is that there is no need to cut down the trees in order to supply paper. Not only do such actions have tremendous positive influence on environment and earth, but also they are more cost-effective and time-saving. As a vivid example, in the last years, before the enhancement of technology, students had to borrow books from libraries for a certain time and they also had to carefully take care of them. However, in recent times, due to the online technology they are able to freely download them from the internet and they have a great accessibility to them wherever they are. Irrespective of the advantages, a potential disadvantage of online platforms may be distractions. As there are plenty of advertisements and notifications on such online resources, some individuals might find it distractive and irritating and they would be unable to completely focus on the subject especially when they are at their classes. Another perceived negative is physical impairments. To illustrate, overly indulgement in using and browsing on Ipads, laptops and mobile would potentially contribute to eyestrain. However, I do not find this statement convincing as there are countless solutions for addressing such problems as turning off the notifications and using anti-radiation glasses. In conclusion, it is true that digital materials would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, I believe that its positive effects in terms of being environmentally friendly and not being time-consuming override the disadvantages.