Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely been accepted that food and fizzy drinks that are produced in factories affect people's health negatively and it is recommended that products that include sugar should be sold at a higher price in order to reduce consumption. I completely agree with this opinion since I believe that people will be reluctant to consume products that include sugar as it is not affordable anymore as well as they will find other healthy alternatives to replace them. The rise in the price of sugary products can decrease the demand for the product. As sweet drinks or food are normally purchased at a relatively cheap price, people will not like the idea of paying them more, for instance, the mothers will not buy candies or soft drinks to children as much as before due to high price and they will consider cutting costs in purchasing these products to consume in the family. As a result, the sale of sugary products can drop dramatically, the companies or manufacturers will not favour producing these types of products. On the other hand, individuals and families will look for food and drinks that can be alternatives to sugary products. They might replace healthy trust drinks or fruits, which offer a similar sweet taste in their normal consumption pattern.As a consequence, the rate of diabetes happening in the countries can be significantly reduced and youngsters are likely to be adaptive to the healthy lifestyle, for example, since the number of people who drink gas drinks reduce in several countries, Coca-cola manufactures other new products such as minute maid Coke zero with no sugar, that is to align with the wants of the community. To conclude, sugar is the main ingredient in the majority of ready-made food and canned drinks these days and it has adverse effects on the health of the people. I am of the opinion that the price increase in sugary products should be encouraged as people will take into account other healthy food, and less desire to purchase the sugary products in the near future.