Explain some of the ways humans are damaging the environment. What can the governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Over the years, man has always interacted with his surroundings. Some actions carried out by humans have constantly impacted the ecosystem negatively. This essay shall discuss major environmental degradation caused by human activities and thereafter highlight how the authorities and the people can mitigate these problems. Some activities of the public on the surroundings have led to some disturbing consequences. For example, open dumping of material and plastic wastes cause reduced quality of open spaces capable of breeding dangerous species including snakes and scorpions. Furthermore, deforestation and poaching have driven a lot of fauna to extinction leading to an unbalanced ecosystem. With this comes the dreadful problem of pandemic and epidemic disease outbreaks. In addition, climatic changes and extreme weather conditions ranging from drought to heavy rainfall and windy situations experienced around the world have been attributed to man's exploitation of forest reserves. Hence if people controlled their actions, the environment will be much safer and inhabitable. The government and individuals can take collaborative efforts at reducing the menace of pollution. Firstly, strict laws against forest clearance have to be enacted by the government as such will ensure the preservation of important species and prevent major climatic changes. For instance, statistics showed reduced flooding incidence in Nigeria following the post-flora conservation law established 5years ago. Secondly, authorities can also increase people's awareness regarding open waste disposal. Through social media platforms, educational programs can be held to sensitize the public on healthy ways of discarding domestic wastes. Hence making it possible to have a safe and serene environment. Lastly, at the individual level, practising basic hygiene and cleanliness including proper refuse disposal can, in addition, go a long way in tackling environmental hazards. In conclusion, although there are recognized man's actions causing unhealthy surroundings, the authorities and public can help avoid the disturbing state through a concerted effort.