Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that children should be allowed to make decisions in matters that affect them, whereas some argue that if children have the freedom to make their own choices, they will grow up selfish individuals. In my opinion, everyone should have their right and decisions, as long as they are still under parents' sight. To begin with, early life education contributes significantly to a child's personality and movements. Nevertheless, when children can make their decisions, their interests will become a priority. For example, a child would be irritated when other family members want to watch the news instead of letting him watch his cartoon. In addition, choices often based on personal preferences and deciding can create the desired mindset at a young age. Hence, this greatly impacts the children's personality, consequently growing into selfish and self-centred people whose priority is their good and who does not care about others. However, decision-making is one of the most critical skills that need to be adopted from a young age. The small decisions that are made daily, it helps children to have responsibility with their actions. Therefore, this will build up a responsible skill for children before making any significant decisions in the future. For example, when a student has to decide what degree at university, he will consider the living expenses and tuition fees before having his final decision. Thus, children who take small decisions from childhood can deal with the conflicts and challenges in life more efficiently. In conclusion, I believe that children should be allowed to make their own choice, although there as some drawbacks that would affect them in the future. However, parents should watch their children early to help them make the right decision..