Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lately, there is an increasing trend where young people take a year out between finishing school and starting university. Most of them choose to do so either to gain work experience or to travel. I personally agree that the wisdom they get from taking a break will benefit them when they return to institutions. A closer look at the effects of travelling or work experience will prove this. Firstly, travelling to other parts of the world before returning to university can help individuals explore their interests. Furthermore, taking time off to travel will help individuals learn about other cultures and open up their views about other opportunities that lie within the horizon. As an example, visiting Paris to see the arts can spark an idea and will help them decide on which courses to enrol in a university. Thus, taking a time off to travel gives some benefits to the travellers. On the other hand, research shows that work experience confers an enormous advantage to students when they return to university. This is because individuals can relate what they learn in school to their work experience. For example, working as a barista at Starbucks teaches them about cash and operation management, and this will help them understand the theoretical aspect of business when they study at school later. Therefore, taking a break to gain work experience is definitely beneficial for students. In a nutshell, travelling and getting work experience helps students to decide on courses and understand the course's theory better. Hence, it is clear that the idea of taking a year out proved to be beneficial. For all students who are about to finish high school now, it is advisable that they take a gap year to explore and gain some experience before enrolling on higher education.