Is teaching people aged 65 or above to use computers a good way to use government money, or is it a waste of time and resources? Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

Education is a key element of any healthy society, and governments need to make it a top priority. If a society is well-educated, then it is likely to be more successful and more competitive internationally. However, although education expenditure directed towards elderly people may not be the best use of resources, it is something that any civilized society should do. On the one hand, the increasing proportion of elderly people in populations around the world is one of the key social changes of the last few decades. If the percentage of people over 65 continues to rise at the present rate in many societies, people of this age group will far outnumber younger ones in the near future. For example, the tendency of life expectancy figures to increase means that many people will have 20 or 30 years of life after they are retired. As a result, elderly people are an increasingly influential group within many societies, and their needs are becoming increasingly important for governments in many countries. Therefore, expenditure on elderly people's education should be part of all education budgets. On the other hand, this should not be taken too far. If education spending is focused on the over-65 age group, this deprives younger people of educational funding that may be more beneficial to society as a whole. For example, if facilities are made available, computers purchased, and teachers hired to teach older people, this means that schools for children and teenagers may not be able to offer this subject to their students. As a result, the skills that teenagers need throughout their lives to get good jobs and provide for their families may be spent on people whose need for this type of education is not as urgent. Older people have a right to benefit from government expenditure, and resources should be allocated to their education. However, this should not be done if it deprives schools and universities