In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land, therefore they should be banned. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is irrefutable that excessive use of plastic bags is really the pain in the neck in the modern world. Plastic waste is non-biodegradable and it is one of the leading causes of water and soil pollution. As far as putting a ban on the use of plastic bags is concerned, I partially agree with this statement because I feel that along with a legal ban some other alternatives must also be preferred to save the water and soil. There are myriads of reasons to support that putting a legal restriction on plastic bags seems to be a viable solution to protect the ocean and land. If there is no use for plastic bags then there will be little plastic pollutants in the water and land. But it can encourage the black marketing of plastic bags as people may use plastic bags in a clandestine way and ultimately it will cause pollution. On the other hand, if the citizens are sensitized about the harmful effects of the use of plastic bags, they will avoid using them and the same message can be conveyed to the collective consciousness of the posterity. Moreover, if plastic bags are expensive and bags made of biodegradable material are cheap, then people will use the bags very wisely. Besides, the recycling of plastic bags can also reduce the pollution caused by plastic bags. In a nutshell, it can be analyzed that putting a legal ban on the use of plastic bags is not a permanent solution to end pollution in the oceans and on the land. Other alternatives must also be followed in,letter and spirit to discourage people from the plastic bags mindlessly.