Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Traffic accidents have been universally a tragic issue. To address this dramatic problem, some people believe in strengthening the driving regulations and punishments. Others, however, suggest that the stakeholders must take action to enhance roads' infrastructures. I believe implementing both would significantly abate this seriously vital concern. From one perspective, some individuals suggest that Increasing the price of fines and punishments simply decreases the probability of further car collisions. Therefore, a number of drivers risking any disobedience falls significantly hence leading to road safety and accidents diminishing. For example, a study on 100 people living in two countries every 6 months of the year proves that the number of violations and car crashes is dramatically higher in countries with smoother regulations than the ones holding stricter rules with expensive tickets. This solely demonstrates the power of legislation strictness to control road accidents. From another perspective, although punishments play a crucial role in preventing car crashes, another group believes that governments should take action to enhance infrastructures of lighting and signage accurately to ensure alertness while driving. Additionally, some newer technologies such as artificial intelligence must be implemented to maintain a safer driving. For instance, in Germany, smart traffic lights with the contribution of artificial intelligence are being studied to be installed in intersections. These devices still manage the waiting time of traffic lights according to the number of cars approaching. Hence, traffic congestion and consequently accidents are anticipated to be reduced to a huge extent with these better infrastructures. To conclude whatever is discussed for diminishing road accidents, while some suggest stricter punishments for policy violators, others believe in enhancing roads' infrastructures with smarter traffic lights, lighting and signage as major supports. Contributing to both viewpoints will definitely alleviate the rate of accidents significantly.