Some people prefer to live in an extended family where a number of different generations live together. Others prefer to live in a small, nuclear family. List some of the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large, extended family.

Living in an extended family and being surrounded by different generations can either be an enjoyable and great experience or otherwise a challenging one. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large, extended where people gather in one place. The two main advantages of living in an extended family are having family members surrounding each other and creating amazing,beautiful and unforgettable memories. Firstly, a large family is usually there for one another despite the age gap between the grandparents and the grandchildren. For instance, when a member of the family is in trouble or hurt and needs help, he or she will be supported in all areas, such as financially and morally, and he or she also will feel safe, lovable and confident. Secondly, people in the extended family tend to enjoy fun and joyful activities such as celebrating birthdays, planning huge weddings and travelling to the countryside for picnics. As a result, a community in a large family creates a vast amount of beautiful memories. However, extended families struggle with different types of issues. Members of large families may often argue about multiple aspects of the family matters. Extended families also may disagree on opinions which leads to extreme problems. Furthermore, handling the responsibilities of the extended family may be hard and challenging for some members of the family. Therefore, choosing to live in a small, nuclear family is a very common option in society. To conclude, although living in an extended family can be fun and joyful, it has many different issues that may affect people living in the family.