Some people think that enjoying the present is more important than planning for the future for both countries and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Life is the only thing that is equal for everyone, because no matter who you are, you only have one opportunity to live. That’s why there is a growing number of people in today’s society who claim that the wisest thing is to live for the right-now moment. However, I believe planning for the future is also significant for people. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons why living for the present is a restricted thought, and demonstrate how being prudent can benefit us more. To begin with, the seemingly rightful reasons for those who claim that living for reality today is more important are very illusive. For example, the very common declaration for these groups of people is that today is the only time you can control, so, according to them, one should try everything to live it to the full, regardless of any further constructive goals. Therefore, they may ignore many troubles they may lead themselves into, such as the problem of procrastination. After all, based on this life principle, you will make the mistake of delaying stuff, because all those deadline assignments are required to be planned ahead. If it is just for the less essential matters in life, such as a college dissertation or a school assignment, things are not so problematic. However, if it is to do with those fundamental issues in life, saying marriage, career choice, or children’s education, you might trap yourself into big troubles without planning ahead. Consequently, living only for reality is neither rational nor responsible, and those who proclaim about it is only misleading. On the other hand, being prudent is a basic attribute of being a human. That shows a person’s dignity because animals don’t make any additional arrangements according to the zoologists. To this point, I absolutely agree with a TED talk speaker, Tim Urban’s idea that a dog can lead an extraordinarily successful life if it just focuses on the present gratification, and is absorbing all the current happiness and fun. Nevertheless, it will be another story if it is concerned with us humans. We live for a vision, or someone might call it to hope, without which our lives could be in vain. Take marriage in human’s society as an example. The marriage itself is actually a future-oriented matter because no one gets married simply because they are happy with each other today! They get married because they also need to accomplish bigger visions of the whole society’s development, like multiplying and creating more advanced technology to solve both the current and the future issues on this planet. As a result, life without a goal is unrealistic, and if we live by such a principle, we’re putting ourselves, as well as our next generation under the threat of extinction. In conclusion, although living for the current moment is attractive in the crowd, it is basically deceptive. Instead of refusing to plan ahead for the future, we should actively be prudent and think in advance in order to make our present life a much more satisfactory one.