It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in under developed countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Never before have we seen so many graduates from senior school contributing and taking part to charities mainly in undeveloped nations. I am of the belief that this trend has clear benefits but also a few drawbacks. To begin with, I think that this tendency is mutually beneficial both for themselves and poorer people. A clear example of that is when these young adults aid the citizens of developing countries, this action stamps out the poverty and promotes the equality as well as motivates and encourages others to do the same thing. Another fact is that these young people become more sensitive and broaden their horizons which plays a pivotal role in their performance in universities. A clear illustration of this could be said to be that, recent research carried out by two prominent professors in Greece has shown that these students tend to be more sociable get higher grades and in many cases are the leaders of groups in universities. On the other hand, this trend has an adverse effect, mainly because these young people are involved to these charities exactly after finishing high school. For example, in order to travel and stay to those countries for few months, they spend a huge part of their savings which would be vital for their studies at college. This, many times impede their personal progress and development as they cannot afford the tuition fees or the expenditures for accomodation in the city where the university is. To sum up, I personally advocate these kinds of action as they make our society a better place for living. But also, I think it is vital that everyone consider the pros and cons before taking a so serious action.