Nowadays online shopping has become more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive negative development?

With the development of modern society, shopping has changed significantly. Due to the advanced technology, consumers prefer to purchase online rather than paying at the local market. Unfortunately, although shopping online has raised more attention recently, it still has some negative outcomes. To begin with, online shopping has become one of the most efficient ways and convenient for consumers. The huge popularity of shopping online provides a major range of choices in which people can select one easily. More specifically, this new method helps buyers access the shopping site more effectively, and individuals can buy products directly from local or international brands. For example, during the pandemic, everyone had to stay at home and struggled with shopping from traditional retailers. In addition, online stores offer attractive prices and allow people to compare prices before paying. Hence, purchasing online is accessible and offers major benefit costs for the consumers. On the other hand, the drawback of shopping online has affected people in some compulsive ways. Nevertheless, sometimes, people were disappointed while not receiving the right items they had selected while ordering online. In addition, the quality of items could not be qualified while buying from the Internet. For example, a few weeks ago I ordered a skirt from an online website. Unfortunately, when I received the items were sent in a different colour, and the product quality was inferior. As a result, shopping online also negatively affects the buyers. In conclusion, purchasing online is crucial during the pandemic. With the development of advanced technology, buying online rather than in-store shopping brings such benefits for the consumers. However, people should get more attention before purchasing to minimize the risks of receiving unsuitable products.