Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some cultures have a belief that younger family members should be responsible for elders in the family by law once they no longer have enough strength to look after themselves in both physically and mentally ways. This has become a controversial issue. From my point of view, I am disagreed with this idea and reckon it should not be made legal. The reasons for my argument will be explained further in the following paragraphs before the conclusion is reached. At present, there are some segments of society who think that it is a necessary job for descendants to take care of the elderly when they become physically and mentally weak. However, I strongly disagree with this, not with the fact that pupils take care of elders but with the belief that it should be made legal. I always think that it is a good deed for youth to look after their family members, but this should be an optional choice. Everyone has their own right to choose whether they want or do not want to do something. Furthermore, it is found by one of the surveys that some people, including young ages, are not ready to hold others' lives in their hands because they are still struggling with their own lives. For instance, think about a person who works all day and night but is still surrounded by problems such as financial, working, and educational issues. Therefore, it would be best for these people to look after their family members when they are ready or it would give them more burden. In conclusion, even though some populations believe that the younger members of the family should be legally responsible for the elderly, I disagree with this and think that everyone must have the right to choose. Hence, it should not be made as a legal law but should be an optional choice. The offspring must look after others when they think they are ready and do not have any other burden.