People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. Which are these problems? Should government encourage people to move to small regional areas?

Every individual has the ambition to live in a big city such as New York City. This is even more prevalent for the youth. This is because large cities have a charm that suburbs do not. All the great schools and workplaces are concentrated in metropolitan localities. However, the residents of large cities face a lot of problems in their daily life. Firstly, these areas are heavily populated and this causes a lot of traffic. Therefore, a commute that may seem small in distance can take a long time. A survey by New York Times concluded that the average joe spends 3 hours a day on the road. Secondly, it is a well-known fact that large cities are heavily polluted resulting in respiratory diseases. Research suggests that in New Delhi, India, 1 in every 4 residents experiences difficulty in breathing. On the other side, there are some advantages of living in suburban areas such as lower pollution and friendly neighbourhoods. For instance, the crime rate in small regions is 1/3rd of that in large cities. The air is also known to be much cleaner and the lifestyle is slow-paced and relaxed. The debate is whether the government should encourage the public to move to the outskirts. I strongly disagree. Small regional areas cannot offer the convenience and the job opportunities that the large cities can. Despite being less populated, the commute is no different due to the distance to the city. Instead, I think governments should invest in improving infrastructure and facilities in the city. They should understand the existing problems and create workable practical solutions. For Instance, the authorities should issue PSAs to encourage the public to use more public transportation. To Conclude, I think the government should assist residents in improving their quality of life in the city rather than incentivising moving elsewhere.