The first smartphone was invented in 1992. By the year 2023 there may be as many as 2.5 billion smartphones in the world. The use of smartphones is decreasing our intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of technology and the invention of smartphones specifically have changed our lives in a way that no one could think of. Our reliance on these devices is increasingly growing and we are approaching a situation where we cannot do a single job without using our smartphones. Some believe that the use of them makes our minds become slow and decrease our intelligence. But I want to illustrate why I think the advantages of this growing technology overcome its disadvantages. A majority of experts think that the increasing use of these electronic devices is affecting our young generation the most, and without proper supervision, it can cost their mental health and make them dependent on them rapidly. As I mentioned the problem is not the using smartphones itself, but the necessity of being supervised by an adult and being told about the correct usage of them. In this, way our children will benefit from the advantages and prepare for living in a technology -dependence world. Other than that we cannot overlook the fact how much smartphones have made our lives easier in various aspects. They totally have changed our way of communication with each other, in a way that no one could even imagine. On the other hand, they can provide us with too much information through the internet and keep us up-to-date. It is a possibility which was not available in the past and, we need to use it if we do not want to fall behind the others in our studies and works. In conclusion, smartphones are a newly invented technology and like any other technology there are some initial worries about them. They have changed our lives greatly and probably there are other changes on the way. We cannot delete them from our everyday lives, So the only practical answer to these worries and not become extremely dependent on them and maybe addicted to them is to learn how to properly use them. With enough,knowledge we can benefit from its significant advantages without any destructive consequences.