With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times there has been an increase in the popularity of social networking in accessing information around the world. Although some people have raised concerns about the negative impact, however, I believe the benefits of online news supersedes. This essay will discuss in detail the merits and demerits of internet gists followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. One worrying concern about the rise of online news platforms is in the area of employment. As a result of the popularity, more and more newscasters are losing their jobs from national television stations because it has become eclipsed by Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp and other media handles. For example, recent research has shown a decrease in the study of mass communication and related courses due to the perceived threat of unemployment post-graduation. Hence, it is only a matter of time before such degrees disappear totally releasing hungry youths into society. In contrast, even though there are some disturbing thoughts, the importance of media reports are far overwhelming. Firstly, information reaches a larger pool of the public. Accordingly, with modern-day sophisticated phones at our disposal, we are able to access reports at any time. For instance, one only needs to browse from the net at any time of the day as against waiting for a fixed period to listen to reports from the radio. Moreover, information spread faster with social media. To illustrate further, news from around the world can be read, copied and sent to groups in another region at an instance. Therefore, making it possible to circulate ideas faster. In conclusion, while there are minor drawbacks to using online platforms to share feeds, I believe the benefits with the ease of communication and circulation make it far more superior.