Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own option.

It is believed by some that extinction of specific plants and animal species is a major problem of environment today. Others, however, argue that other environmental issues are more significant. In my opinion, although preservation of living species is crucial as loss of one species can alter the balance of the whole ecosystem, global warming and pollution are equally worthy to consider. Therefore, all environmental problems are vital; so, they should be dealt with to make sure a longer survival of all living things on the Earth. The loss of a particular endangered species is important because every species has its significance in the ecosystem. If one species extinct, it would disturb the whole food chain. Consequently, there could be serious disruptions in the ecosystem as species are dependent on each other. This will eventually has dangerous ramifications on humanity because human beings take their nutrition from animals and plants. Depletion of food resources could cause starvation and malnutrition which may lead to annihilation on mankind. Hence, preservation of all species is necessary. There are many other environmental problems these day, all of them are important, for example, global warming and pollution. Increasing global temperatures, leads to climate changes which results in melting glaciers, heat waves in winters and cold spells in summers. Pollution of all types, whether it is air, water or land, is a concerning issue of contemporary era. Carbon emissions from automobiles and power plants by the combustion of fossil fuel have adverse effects on the lives of all living beings. It results in depletion of ozone layer which is a protective layer that shields the Earth from the harmful radiations of sun. Moreover, pollution is adversely affecting health of all living species. Thus, global warming and pollution should be dealt for the survival of all living things. In conclusion, conservation of flora and fauna species is necessary to ensure a balance in ecosystem. Similarly, other environmental problems such as global warming and pollution are equally imperative. I, therefore, believe that it is indispensable to deal with all environmental issues simultaneously to improve lifespan of all the species on our planet.