Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although, some persons argue that the public cannot procure solutions to environmental degradation and as such,only the government and big firms can deal with the problem. I completely disagree and believe otherwise. This essay will highlight measures of conserving the earth at various levels followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. Some people might see the actions of citizens as only destructive to vegetations, however, with proper education and sensitization, they are better equipped at making constructive decisions that will improve their surroundings. For example, a recent study carried out among rural dwellers in Nigeria showed that most illiterate masses agree to have a hygiene culture after being educated about the negative effect of defecating on water bodies. Hence, leading to a reduced incidence of water-borne diseases. Moreover, humans are the ones who eventually carry out disturbing ecological activities, accordingly, it is their obligation to fix things in order to preserve the ecosystem. For instance, indiscriminate disposal of sewage and solid wastes on open land space which pollutes the earth can be prevented if deliberate actions are taken by the public to stop it. With that in mind, the authorities and business owners can contribute their quotas at arresting the menace of degradation. Firstly, leaders can enact laws against forest clearance. Therefore, helping to preserve wildlife and endangered species and having a stable ecosystem. To illustrate further, if deforestation is prohibited, wild animals are conserved without having a shift in the food chain and climatic changes that may occur. Similarly, firms can make a conscious effort in managing industrial waste. Thus, chemicals will not destroy aquatic life's and fumes and gaseous effluence will not damage the atmosphere. In conclusion, in spite of the negative assumptions of some persons regarding the conservation of the earth by the masses, I believe the citizens, entrepreneurs and authorities can work together to mitigate the problems of environmental pollution.