In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

People’s interest in getting to know the history of the area they are living in is increasing. It could be with the intention of refurbishing the residence (some places have several years, therefore things are going to fail at some point and it’s better to be prepared), knowing who lived there before, etc. The internet provides a lot of facilities, as well as word, that’s why is easier than ever to contact different people or neighbours to get info. There are places that are part of the history of the country or city you are living in. We can use France as a perfect example, there are plenty of buildings that aren’t new. Many of them have been there hundreds of years. Knowing how much time things are, allows you to know when you have to replace them. For instance, the elevator of the building could need a renovation but if you don’t know this, it could represent damage to the residents of the property. Consequently, people must know these facts so they take action before something detrimental happens. Furthermore, there are rare cases where the property was owned by drug dealers. In addition, the are several occasions in the news about buried bodies in houses. The past of the old owners should be something we must be aware of. For instance, the bodies’ cases are something harmless, but the drug dealers could have a detrimental effect on your life and can represent a risk for you and your family. Nowadays we have plenty of tech resources. In other words, we can get this data by contacting old owners or talking to the neighbours. Google is a great source of information and if the place where we are living is recognized, there could be material available on the web. In conclusion, knowing the essential information about the place you are living in could be a benefit for the long term and for your safety.