In some countries boarding schools are getting more popular. Is it a positive or negative development? What are the reasons behind it?

With the heavy influence of globalization, parents have more options for choosing a school for their child. The popularity of sending children into boarding schools has been getting more attention in recent decades. Although living apart from the family will improve necessary skills for children in social life, this aspect may lead to negative outcomes. To begin with, in some families, parents are busy at work, they believe boarding school can provide educational and physical support for their child. Nevertheless, when students attend boarding schools, their self-disciplined and social skills will be developed. In addition, living at school without parental care, the children will build up independent self-care and study self-disciplined efficiently. However, their social skills are also developed. For example, children have to share their room with other friends, so they must learn how to work and live in harmony with others. Hence, they can share learning materials and help each other get a better results. Therefore, as living in a firm educational environment, students are forced to have their daily strictly, so their dependent skills will be improved in all aspects. On the other hand, living inside school most of the time has affected the growth of children. Unfortunately, because of immaturity and parental supervision is lacking, it is easy for children to be lured into social problems. For instance, when children live independently and lack parent care, they become spontaneous and do anything they assume is right. Moreover, they lose freedom and have limited contact with family and relations. Thus, living apart from family also significantly impacts children ’s emotions and thinking. In conclusion, in some countries, boarding schools have raised more attention because parents’ schedule is becoming more hectic. The benefit of children living self-disciplined is crucial, but their growth has also been mainly affected.