Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is disagreement among people whether a country should produce all the food for its population or import it. I believe that it is not possible to produce all the goods we need with only a little import because it is really hard to have all raw materials and even if we can, it would be expensive. First of all, to manufacture all the goods for the population, we need raw materials, and some raw materials are hard to find or grow. For instance, assume that you live in a country where the sun does not penetrate enough. You will need sugarcane for produce sugar but sugarcane grows in warm places, and the temperature should be at least 22 degrees. In this situation, you cannot produce sugar which means you cannot produce sweet foods. There are many limitations like this and it is hard to solve all of them. Secondly, although there are many problems in obtaining all raw materials, there is always a solution. As I mentioned before sugarcane needs heat to grow up. In countries like England, artificial sun technology is used for sugar cane manufacturing, but it is not cheap technology. We can use new technological developments to fill all our gaps, but the cost will be too high. As money is a kind of limitation, we will have to import some of the raw materials. Consequently, I believe that it is not possible to produce all the goods even if we import some of the raw materials, I don't think that it will be enough. However, we can always use technology, the economic situation of the country is important for these kinds of productions because they are costly.