Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effects will this have on society?

It is true that many criminals tend to commit crimes again after being free from prison. This trend is caused by some reasonable factors and some serious social issues will arise from this. Admittedly, people who violated laws generally serve sentences in prisons. After sentences in jails, they need to be employed again to keep their lives, unfortunately, they continue to carry the criminal labels in their whole lives. Furthermore, they are isolated in prison from society for a long time, despite the trend of society changing rapidly, therefore, it is not easy for criminals to adapt to current society. Therefore, it is hard for offenders to get new jobs and they have to keep their harsh lives with a few incomes. Consequently, those kinds of law-breakers will recommit illegalities for livelihood crime, for,instance theft or fraud. Obviously, a higher second conviction rate will negatively affect modern society. To begin with, the increase in the crime rate causes more illegalities. Therefore, the security of society is getting worse and people surely have to live in dangerous situations. For example, people might worry about activities at night time. Accordingly, the government has to spend more human resources and efforts to alleviate this situation. In addition, if the criminal re-enters the prison because of a second conviction, they cannot join the workforce and pay any taxes, therefore, this kind of behaviour can be harmful to the economy. In conclusion, lack of opportunities for employment and difficulty adapting to society lead to a higher percentage of the second convictions. In my opinion, we have to make new police to support offenders' accommodation.