The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although some people argue that the primary goal of science should be to raise people’s quality of life, I partly agree with the idea and in this essay, I will discuss reasons to support my perspective. There are various reasons why scientists should make efforts to enhance human lives. Firstly, science has made many significant improvements in many aspects such as healthcare and education. Medical research has resulted in the creation of vaccines and treatments, which are life-saving. Additionally, thanks to technological inventions based on science, electricity and the Internet have changed the way people study and work. By taking advantage of these, we can explore new knowledge and our communication and work procedures have become more effective and convenient making our lives more comfortable and enjoyable. Furthermore, promoting the application of science in agricultural practice helps enhance the productivity and quality of produce in rural areas, ensuring food security and increasing income for farmers and traders. However, there are other fields that science should focus on. Particularly, science has played a crucial role in resolving global issues and reducing climate change as well as protecting natural resources. The fact is that many scientists have been seeking renewable resources known as solar energy, wind power, hydropower and even nuclear power with the hope to replace current energy sources of fossil fuels. As a result, the air will be less polluted and global warming will be slower leading to improved public health. Moreover, once humans consume alternative energy, other sources including oil, natural gases, and coal will be conserved. In conclusion, although the sole aim of science is believed to enhance human lives, I suppose that science has a greater role in making advancements in protecting our planet and its species.