Nowadays environmental problems are too big to be managed by individual persons or individual countries. In other words, it is an international problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental destruction has become one of the most pressing/ urgent/ alarming problems facing/ plaguing individuals and countries. However, I believe it cannot be solved by any country alone and requires// calls for global cooperation/ collaboration due to the scale of the environmental impacts and the limited capacities of an individual country/ government. Environmental preservation demands concerted/ collaborative efforts / actions of all countries → concerted efforts / actions on global level// concerted global efforts / actions because the consequences of environmental damage affect the entire world. Natural environment is an interconnected system where each component/ element, ranging from air and soil to micro-organisms and human beings, link Change the form of the verb linked show examples closely to each other. Therefore, when one element is severely damaged, the global environment will deteriorate, resulting in/ causing/ inflicting worldwide pollution, biodiversity → ecosystem degradation and climate change. For example, tropical deforestation contributes to rise in global temperature and change in world precipitation patterns, which have led to/ inflicted floods, tornados and droughts affecting many parts of the world. Furthermore, without international coordination → cooperation/ collaboration, efforts / endeavors/ attempts to protect/ preserve the global environment cannot come to fruition/ be effective. Developing countries are culpable/ responsible for a significant proportion of world greenhouse gases emissions, because they still heavily rely on fossil fuels as a main source of energy to develop the economy. If there is no international consensus on curbing global warming, the authorities of these countries will neither be under pressure to wean their countries off coal, oil and natural gas and switch to clean renewable energy, nor will they gain technological, financial and other support from developing countries to do so. Consequently, no matter how much efforts / endeavors / attempts other parts of the worlds make to tackle climate change, their efforts / attempts will be futile// there efforts will be nullified/ negated/ countervailed/ neutralized. In conclusion, countries need to cooperate in order to tackle major environmental issues effectively because these issues inflict damage on the entire world and are beyond the capabilities of any individual government.