Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Urbanization is changing the world, the attestation of how humanity has changed since 300,000 years ago. As places get urbanized, people flock together, in search for opprtunities, convenience and much better way of life. Urban growth influence transportation. Not only it increases the travel demand but also causes, infrastructure pressure and traffic congestion. In this essay, I will talk about the pros and cons of railways and roads as well as their differences. Rail transport is a means of transferring passengers and goods on wheeled vehicles running on rails, which are located on tracks. It's a greener option of transport as it burns less fuel. Road transport on the other hand runs on a prepared flat surface. It's easier for tracking door to door cargo movement. Road transport has limited speed due to road conditions and accidents, compared to rail transport that has more considerable speed as tracks rarely gets disturbed. Roads have limited capacity whereas railways have huge carrying capacity. Roads are suitable for transporting goods in smaller quantities and rails can transport heavy goods in large quantities in short amount of time. According to the transport Statistics conducted by the Department of Transportation in United Kingdom, rails are much safer the roads transport. As a whole, the positive effects of having rails in a country outweighs its counterpart. Given the higher cost of building railways system, I totally agree that governments should spend more on it.