Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle moreof their waste?

Some believe that a lot of homes nowadays produces trash and the government should make recycling a legal requirement. I would certainly agree with the statement but this decision should be decided on the condition of the area and the homes around it. On the one hand, it's understandable why some think that government should make recycling a legal requirement. Firstly, recycling reduces waste in landfills and prevents pollution. In 2019, Germany, one of the leading communities in waste management, introduced the " Green Packaging Act". It aims to prevent or reduce the impact of packaging waste on the environment. Secondly, It conserves energy and natural resources. Making products from recycled materials requires less energy than making new ones. It creates jobs producing economic benefits. Just recently, Thailand upcycles plastic bottles wastes into PPE suits, clothing and accessories. As a result, Thailand was able to solve one of its medical supply problems and provide people jobs during the pandemic. On the contrary, recycling varies greatly in every country, and inconsistency hurts more the environment. Access to recycling depends on where the people live. Some countries, like the US, doesn't have a federal recycling program and leave it up to individual communities resulting in recycling confusion. The lack of convenience for most people is the top reason why the public doesn't recycle. It's expensive and requires resources to collect, sort, break down and reuse items. Some countries even result in shipping non-recyclable wastes to poor countries. In 2019, the Philippines shipped back tonnes of rubbish to Canada. In conclusion, to some extent, I would agree that governments should step it up when it comes to recycling. They must ensure clear communication and consistent guidelines about the matter to avoid confusion.