Some people believe that violent media directly result in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The severity of violence has been highlighted over the past decades. From this aspect, questions about whether violent media directly results in violent behaviour are raised. In my opinion, violent behaviour is caused by the media to some extent. Irrefutably, an increase in copycat violence occurs. This is because, with the prevalence of media, violent contents easily provide a wide range of occasions and describe the ways of violence. This obviously leads individuals with the potential of violence to have a chance to learn about detail the methods of violence and this in turn results in planning similar situations of violence, such as domestic, school, and office violence. What is more, although the entertainment of media cannot be ignored, the lightness of violence is instilled by media. To exemplify, plenty of action films utilise violent scenes just for enjoyment or interest and general dramas illustrate men’s characters who attack someone as methods for manly and fearless. This, therefore, brings about the incorrect awareness of violence to individuals who have curiosity about violence. Nevertheless, the public can distinguish what is right from wrong. In other words, since a plethora of contents associated with violence offer the caution of alarming scenes, they sufficiently understand fiction in scenes and the risk of imitation, so they barely like to follow violent scenes. To recapitulate, the public can distinguish what is right from wrong but an increase in copycat violence occurs and the lightness of violence is instilled by media. Thus, violent behaviour is caused by the channels.