In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What do you think are the reasons for this, and is this a positive or negative development?

Highly resembled architecture styles have rendered cities around the globe look increasingly identical. The loss of architectural identity is due to several factors, and I believe it is detrimental to preserving traditional cultures and techniques. One possible cause for the similarity of modern buildings is the influence of contemporary art. In history, different cultures incorporated their distinct art styles into building construction, with some exquisite, whereas some plain. However, when contemporary art sweeps the world, minimalism has become the most popular aesthetic trend, adopted by designers all over the world to build sleek skyscrapers with glass facades. Another reason why modern buildings become more identical is the change of the function. Global urbanization means an explosion of the urban population, which calls for towering office blocks and apartment buildings to accommodate more people. Were architects to stick to traditional designs and materials, they would not be able to meet the new demand. Therefore, they have to abandon traditional techniques that are not applicable. Loss of architectural uniqueness can negatively affect a country’s cultural identity. The less exposure to traditional-style architecture, the fewer people can appreciate it. As a result, the public, especially the younger generation, may lose interest and curiosity in discovering the cultural and historical significance behind the traditional architectural features. In addition, when ancient-style buildings are displaced by modern skyscrapers, traditional construction theories and techniques will become less known, which means the wisdom and perception encapsulated will gradually disappear. In conclusion, buildings in different places of the world have become more resembled mainly because they meet the contemporary aesthetics and satisfy the demand of modern life. However, this trend may mean a loss of cultural diversity.