Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Sport has been practiced within societies for millennia. While some believe that the role which sport plays is of great importance, others feel that its only function is leisure. I tend to agree with the former view. (This is not an appropriate specific statement for this style of essay – see feedback for further details) On the one hand, those who argue that sports have no more significant purpose than a recreational activity might point to its essentially trivial nature. They may suggest that because all sports are games, at root, involving physicality, their role in society is not of any substance. For example, most people enjoy watching or participating in football as a way to only pass the time. If all sports vanished tomorrow, the only consequence would be that people would need to find another activity to fill the time. (Only one idea here) However, I agree with those (your opinion should not be here – please see feedback for further detail) who consider that sports provide crucial physical and psychological benefits for society. Regarding the former, the evidence for sports ’ impact on a person’s physical well-being is vast and undeniable. For example (repetitive use of this phrase), doing sports on a regular basis helps to control blood pressure, lowers the risk of cancer and improves heart function. As for the latter, sports have also been shown to reduce stress, boost confidence and enhance resilience. As a society is only as healthy as its members, it must be concluded that sport serves a greater purpose other than recreation considering its personal impact on health. In conclusion, because of the sizeable influence that sport can have on public health, I would argue that its role in society is much more substantial than a simple entertainment. (Not enough detail for your opinion here - plus you have not signalled that you have considered both sides)