It is said that watching TV is a waste of time for children. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

While some parents believe that watching television is a waste of time for their children and try to restrict them from watching television, other parents claim that there is nothing bad in watching some programs. From my point of view, I agree with the latter view and think that watching television can also give many benefits to children if those programs are suitable for them. In the following paragraphs, the reasons to support my opinion will be outlined. Television plays an essential role in children’s development in many aspects. First of all, television helps children extend their range of interests. To illustrate, children can learn many new things and make many exciting discoveries for themselves from watching some productive programs on television. In addition to this benefit, television improves children’s vocabulary and gives them opportunities to gain more knowledge which is essential for children’s growth. For example, some young children learn how to speak English and remember new English vocabulary from watching their favorite cartoons such as Peppa Pig. Moreover, watching some cognitive programs, including documentaries on educational channels, helps children learn more about the world around them such as wildlife, world environment, and the importance of preserving forests and wild animals. I strongly believe that these programs on television help educating children in an effective manner. Some people might argue that there are other different resources of information such as books and teachers that are more appropriate for children to learn from. However, I personally think that many programs on television give children and people the opportunites to learn what cannot be learnt from books. This is because watching television and movies allows children to feel realistic, and they are able to grasp and remember more things when they see and hear rather than read it. In summary, even though watching television can offer many advantages to children, it can cause disadvantages if they spend a lot of their time on it daily. Therefore, it is recommended that watching television in moderation and under parents’ guidance should be beneficial for children’s entertainment and learning.