Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Social media is becoming one of the most controversial subjects around the globe nowadays. It will allow us to connect and contact people closer than usual, which is advantageous. On the contrary, I believe that there are more disadvantages, which I am going to highlight in this essay. Firstly, one of the main benefits we can see in social media is, people are more contactable and new friends can be recognized. The positive effect of this tends to build up a professional network among different people from various geographical areas and professions. For instance, getting to know each other from different areas will generate new job opportunities and they can gain knowledge regarding novice organizations. In addition, because of social media, society is up to date since everyone can access it and the latest news is at your fingertips. Furthermore, the younger crowd can gain the benefit of gaining knowledge about emerging technological aspects in seconds. On the other hand, more drawbacks can be found because of the above-mentioned activities which are extremely confronting. One of them is child abuse and sexual harassment reporting in news channels, which have increased in the recent past. The reason behind most of the time is due to accepting friends whoever unknown to you without doing any background checks. For example, so many cases can be found in Police reports among people recognized because of social media such as Facebook and Tiktok. Moreover, when it comes to news items, people deliberately post false news to gain more views or with the intention of deceiving society, which is extremely harmful. After seeing this news society eventually pushed to a bad stage. In conclusion, after analyzing the above points anyone can comprehend that there are immense drawbacks that can harm society in a substantial manner. Therefore, by and,large governments must have to make their decision to have control of social media before it harms the world adversely.