Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that telling a lot about someone’s culture and character from his choice of clothes could be possible. From my perspective, I agree with this statement and this essay will speak further as to why I agree with it. Just as an old saying in China goes, ‘Appearance comes from someone’s heart’. It is the same as the choice of clothes. Choice of clothes contains the colours, styles and so on. Firstly, colours can reflect one’s favour and character directly in some ways. For example, a person who prefers dark colours like black may probably be a cool guy while a person who prefers light colours like yellow could be energetic. Compared with colours, clothes ’ styles symbolize someone’s culture. There comes a vivid example. In western countries like America, people pretend to choose casual clothes which represent freedom, and shorts and skirts are common in these countries. However, Eastern people are more conservative and shier to wear sexy clothes in their daily life. They prefer formal clothes which do not expose too much skin like shirts, especially for Chinese people who are affected by Confucianism. In conclusion, on one hand, the choice of clothes can show one’s character, on the other hand, the choice of clothes can reveal one’s culture. But you should keep in mind that the statement is not definite or absolute, and we cannot learn about a person only by telling his clothes.