In the future nobody will buy printed books or newspaper because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

E-books and newspaper applications have become far more common than old-school printed versions. One could argue that free access to online resources will deteriorate printed book and newspaper sales, however, I strongly disagree with this opinion. This essay will discuss the reasons behind my disagreement. Although people are often able to reach e-books and online news outlets for free, it does not necessarily mean they will be able to do it in future. There has been, in fact, concerns about copyright violations that have been raised by authors, journalists, publishers or newspapers. It is good to remember that people spend their time, effort, and capital to publish a book or an article. If there is nobody around to financially support them, e-books and other online resources would not last long as expected. Today many people pay for these products and services, and it is getting harder to access them without payment, which makes no difference between printed and non-printed material in terms of finances. Given the decreasing demand for printed material during the last decade, however, it is not challenging to foresee that printed books and newspapers will be more expensive in future. Nevertheless, there will be enthusiasts and collectors who are likely to spend their money on printed books to be able to keep their archives updated. Furthermore, the public archives will be important to store the printed materials too, because we depend on having access to electricity, and internet connection in order to reach e-books and online newspapers. In case of an emergency situation that may cause a lack of electricity, the online material will be unavailable to use. In conclusion, the printed material may be less popular amongst people in future, however, there will be demand for them. On the other hand, copyright claims and policies would not allow people to access online materials without charge, which means one should remember to pay for whatever they read, no matter printed or online.