Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.   Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the debate on whether advertisements will be influencing has been heated. While some people argue that it can persuade us to purchase, others claimed that it is too common to be noticed in our daily life. As far as I am concerned, the effectiveness of commercials should be judged by their impacts on their target audiences. This essay will discuss both sides and elaborate on my view. To begin with, advertisements may increase the credibility of the brand, making their products more outstanding than their competitors and become more appealing to their consumers. As the rise in different brands may create struggles and confusion for consumers, targeting advertisements may intrigue their audience to buy something as the trial. For example, cosmetic brands use advertising to cajole their target audiences to purchase their products by highlighting their effectiveness and their advantage compared to their substitutes. Once customers are satisfied with their first consumption, they may be easier to be persuaded by the advertisements from the same brand. However, being bombarded by numerous literature may also create mental fatigue in watching them, especially for those audiences who are not targeted by the advertisement. For instance, students in universities may not be interested in child caring products. Since many brands are conducting mass advertising that whoever use a certain social platform can see, the advertisement may be less convincing for those who already lacked interest in that area. In this way, people may immune the amount of the advertisement and stop paying attention to it in the future. In conclusion, since each brand has its own target audience, the effectiveness in persuading the audience to purchase may be more outstanding for their target audiences in comparison with the general public. Nevertheless, since big data is now collecting every user’s preference and providing direct advertisement, the effectiveness of the advertisement in the future may be more favourable.