In some countries, using the internet in schools is getting more popular. Is this a positive or negative development?

As national barriers are slowly being broken down through trade, integration, and technology various organisations in society are being influenced especially by the internet. Nowadays practically all academic institutions are connected. Whether this is a beneficial or detrimental development is discussed in further detail below.  On the one gand, there is ample evidence to suggest the benefits of the internet are increasing, especially related to an academic environment. This is because when a school is connected they have faster access to more information. Furthermore, it can bestow increases in efficiency. For example, in certain schools across the UK matters such as absenteeism, disciplinary procedures and general communication can be performed over the Internet through email. Therefore, it is clear that being connected to the world wide web entails positive implications. On the other hand, being connected to the internet has grave dangers and could even lead to an overreliance. This is due to the fact that undesirable facets of society have potential access to innocent children. Furthermore getting the into the habit of consulting 'Google' for answers may be argued as putting too much faith into the hands of technology companies. For example, due to modern marketing techniques such as SEO and, SEM it is not difficult to tamper with search engine rankings. Therefore the over-reliance on technology instead of traditional knowledge could be questioned.  To conclude, there are both negative and positive aspects to consider,, however due to the wealth of information, the conveniences that have been gained so far, I am strong of the opinion that school internet connectivity is a positive development.